Join ACS C&EN Online RSS Feeds ACS Online Store
Cleveland Section
Isotopics (newsletter)
Job Postings
Executive Committee
Bylaws & Forms
Committee Pages
Chemistry Olympiad
National Chemistry Week
Younger Chemists Committee
Links to other organizations
Contact Us

Irene C. Heller Annual Award Presented to the Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher in the Cleveland Section

The Cleveland Section of the American Chemical Society annually sponsors an award to recognize an outstanding high school chemistry teacher in the Cleveland Section. The award consists of an honorarium of $1,000 and a framed certificate. The award is named for Irene Heller of North Olmsted High School in recognition of her contributions as an outstanding high school chemistry teacher and her service to the Cleveland Section.

Recognizing outstanding high school chemistry teaching

Call for nominations to be posted in early 2016.


Congratulations to the 2016 Winner

Anne Marie Lavelle
St. Edwards High School


The award was presented at the April 20, 2016 meeting of the Cleveland Section.
About Irene C. Heller:


    Irene Heller taught chemistry at North Olmsted High School from 1967 until her untimely death in 1996. Born in Cleveland in 1944, she graduated from the university of Toledo with degrees in Chemistry and Education. Irene hosted the local Chemistry Olympiad annually at North Olmsted High School from 1985 through 1995. Recognized for her work with the North Olmsted Outstanding Chemistry Teacher award in 1986 and in 1995 with the most Influential Teacher award, Irene was a member of the Board of Directors of the Cleveland Regional Council of Science Teachers, in Who's Who Among American Teachers, and a member of the Energy Education Advisory Council for CEI. She was active in the Cleveland Section of the American Chemical Society, in the High School Affairs committee, and served as Secretary for the Section in 1995 and 1996. In 1993, as part of the Centennial Celebration of the Cleveland Section, Irene was awarded the Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher Award. In 1996, after her death, the Executive Committee of the Section approved an annual award in her memory.

Previous winners

Irene C. Heller, North Olmsted High School, 1993
Fen Lewis, Strongsville High School, 1997
Elizabeth Dabrowski, Magnificat High School, 1998
Jesse Bernstein, Hawken School, 1999
Judith Lachvayder, Parma Senior High School, 2000
Lois Kuhns, Chardon High School, 2001
Sean McGuan, Riverside High School, Lake County, 2002
Olga Gueits, Lincoln West High School, 2003
Marylin Rohr, Chardon High School, 2005
Roger Storm, Fairview Park High School, 2006
John P. Davis, Kenston High School, 2007
Kristin J. Gregory,West Geauga High School, 2008
Lori Koss,Magnificat High School, 2009
Christine Deighan, Chagrin Falls High School, 2010
Nikki Anderson, Vermillion High School, 2011
Beth A. Smith, Brecksville-Broadview Heights H.S., 2012
Dr. Russ Mauer, Hawken Upper School, 2014

Current Newsletter

Feb 2019
View Now
Previous Isotopics >
Recent updates
Page last updated: Apr.. 21, 2016
Join ACS E-mail the Webmaster

Copyright American Chemical Society. All rights reserved.